Three AllerGen researchers inducted into Canadian Academy of Health Sciences in 2019

Three AllerGen researchers inducted into Canadian Academy of Health Sciences in 2019

Being inducted into the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences (CAHS) is one of the highest honours for Canadians in the health sciences community. CAHS Fellows are recognized for their innovative leadership, research excellence and commitment to advancing academic health science.

Three AllerGen investigators are among the 49 researchers elected as Fellows of the CAHS in 2019.

Dr. Sonia Anand, MD, PhD, FRCP(C), is a professor of Medicine and Epidemiology and Director of the Population Genomics Program at McMaster University, where she holds both the Heart and Stroke Foundation/Michael G. DeGroote Chair in Population Health Research and a Canada Research Chair in Ethnic Diversity and Cardiovascular Disease. Within AllerGen, Dr. Anand was a Co-Principal Investigator of the CIHR-funded CHILD Cohort Study project “Early Life Determinants of Asthma.” She remains involved in other projects that leverage CHILD data.

Dr. John Gordon, PhD, is a professor in the Division of Respirology, Critical Care & Sleep Medicine within the Department of Medicine at the University of Saskatchewan. He was a Co-Leader of AllerGen’s Biomarkers and Bioinformatics Enabing Platform and an investigator on numerous AllerGen-supported projects, including one that has resulted in efforts to develop a new immunotherapy technique for treating anaphylaxis using modified dendritic cells.

Dr. Jean Marshall, PhD, is a professor and former head of the Department of Microbiology & Immunology at Dalhousie University. Within AllerGen, she was a Co-Leader of the Network’s national, multidisciplinary food allergy research consortium, comprising the CanFAST Legacy Project and NFASt Legacy Initiative, and was an investigator on various projects. She is also currently a Co-Principal Investigator on a CIHR-funded project using CHILD Cohort Study data to explore how breastfeeding might help prevent food allergies. In 2018, Dr. Marshall was awarded the Bernhard Cinader Award for “distinguished scientific leadership and accomplishments in immunology.”

Read the Dalhousie University announcement about Dr. Marshall’s induction into the CAHS.

See the full list of 2019 CAHS inductees.