AllerGen’s CEO & CHILD’s Founding Director honoured by CTS

AllerGen’s CEO & CHILD’s Founding Director honoured by CTS

On April 11, 2019, at the annual Canadian Respiratory Conference held in Ottawa, ON, both Dr. Diana Royce, AllerGen’s President and CEO, and AllerGen investigator Dr. Malcolm Sears, the Founding Director of the CHILD Cohort Study, were recognized by the Canadian Thoracic Society (CTS) with awards.

Dr. Royce was presented a Canadian Thoracic Society Research Partnerships Award in recognition of her leadership in building community partnerships to advance respiratory research and education—a part of her legacy as the Managing Director of AllerGen from 2005 to 2019.

Dr. Sears, an internationally-renowned respirologist and epidemiologist, received a CTS award for Outstanding Contributions to Respiratory Research. Dr. Sears led the CHILD Cohort Study from its inception in 2007 through to July 2017, when Dr. Padmaja Subbarao became Director.

Photo on the left: L to R – Janet Sutherland, the Executive Director of CTS; Dr. Diana Royce; Anne Van Dam, the Director of Knowledge Mobilization for CTS. Photo on the right: L to R – Dr. Piush Mandhane, leader of the Edmonton site of CHILD; Dr. Malcolm Sears; Dr. Padmaja Subbarao, current Director of CHILD.