Board of Directors

AllerGen NCE Inc. is governed by an independent Board of Directors (BoD) committed to the vision and mission of the Network. Board Directors promote an atmosphere where research excellence and industry expertise unite to provide socio-economic benefits for Canadians. The BoD is responsible for the overall governance of the Network and acts in accordance with the By-Laws of AllerGen NCE Inc.

AllerGen’s BoD ensures that Network management pursues appropriate corporate directions and develops, maintains and implements investments, processes and strategic plans in accordance with Network policies and priorities.

Former Board Members

Current Board Members

[otw_shortcode_content_toggle title=”Pieter Cullis (Chair) | academic/research, Vancouver BC” opened=”closed”]

Pieter Cullis, PhD, FRSC (Chair)
Director, Life Sciences Institute; Director, NanoMedicines Research Group; Chair, Personalized Medicine Initiative; Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, The University of British Columbia
Dr. Cullis is an internationally recognized pioneer and leader in the physical properties and functional roles of lipids in biological membranes and liposomal drug delivery systems.
Sector: Academic/Research[/otw_shortcode_content_toggle][otw_shortcode_content_toggle title=”Vanessa Foran | non-profit, Toronto ON” opened=”closed”]

Vanessa Foran

President and CEO, Asthma Canada
Ms Foran is President and CEO of Asthma Canada, which provides information and services to help the 3 million Canadians with asthma.
Sector: Non-Profit[/otw_shortcode_content_toggle] [otw_shortcode_content_toggle title=”Daniel Nixon | private, Toronto ON” opened=”closed”]

nixonDaniel Nixon, MBA

Director & Chief Financial Officer, Molecular You Corporation
Mr. Nixon is a seasoned executive with extensive private equity, investment banking and operations experience.
Sector: Private[/otw_shortcode_content_toggle] [otw_shortcode_content_toggle title=”Paul O’Byrne | clinical/academic, Hamilton ON” opened=”closed”]


Professor, Division of Respirology, Department of Medicine, and Dean and Vice-President, Faculty of Health Sciences, McMaster University, St. Joseph’s Healthcare
Dr. O’Byrne is world renowned for his research on asthma that is the result of allergies.
Sector: Clinical/Academic[/otw_shortcode_content_toggle] [otw_shortcode_content_toggle title=”Diana Royce | AllerGen NCE” opened=”closed”]

Diana Royce, EdD

President and CEO, AllerGen NCE Inc.
Dr. Royce has over 30 years of experience in the post-secondary and health sectors related to public consultation and research, program implementation, strategic and operational planning, network administration, partnership and public policy development, advocacy, fundraising, knowledge mobilization, conference planning and meeting facilitation.[/otw_shortcode_content_toggle] [otw_shortcode_content_toggle title=”Padmaja Subbarao | clinical/academic, Toronto, ON” opened=”closed”]

Padmaja Subbarao, MD, FRCPC, Msc. (Epid)

Director, Pulmonary Function Laboratory, and Clinician-Scientist, Respirologist, Hospital for Sick Children; Associate Professor, Department of Paediatrics, University of Toronto; Director, CHILD Cohort Study
Dr. Subbarao’s primary research interest is in the early determinants and development of asthma. Specifically, she is studying changes in infant lung function biomarkers of inflammation in this understudied group to elucidate the effect of environment and viruses on the early development of disease.
Sector: Clinical/Academic[/otw_shortcode_content_toggle]